A change of plans

We were supposed to be living in England by now, but something even more exciting has come up. My husband found out about a week ago that he had been offered another position in a totally different country. While he was very reluctant to quit a job he hadn’t even started, the new offer with a different international organization was much too enticing to pass up. So I am happy to announce that for the next three years we are going to be living in Vienna.

This is all happening very quickly and we expect to move within two weeks! That means we have a ton of things to do in a very short amount of time. I have to go back to Paris this week to retrieve my passport from the British visa services. Luckily, in Austria, I don’t need a visa to enter the country and my husband’s office will take care of the immigration procedures upon our arrival. We also have to pack the things we are shipping by air, tie up other loose ends, and set off! We are all really excited to be moving to a new country, to discover a new culture and language. And I can’t wait to explore not only Austria, but the neighboring countries too…Budapest is at the top of my weekend getaway list!

I went to Vienna once for a weekend trip, but that was more than a decade ago. I would love to hear from anyone who has traveled to or lived in Austria.

13 comments

  1. How exciting! I’ve never been to Austria, but I would love to go. How’s your German?😉

  2. Sounds really exiting! I’m sure you’ll have a great time in Vienna as soon as you are settled

  3. Vienna is absolutely beautiful! I recently holidayd there. There is so much to see and do and the u-bann (like the French metro) is easy to use. Best of luck with your German!

  4. Pingback: lille3000 « La Marinière

Leave a Reply

