The Antlers in Brussels

The Antlers at the AB Club in Brussels

Yesterday, Laurent and I took a quick trip to Brussels to see some friends and to see my favorite band, The Antlers, play at the AB Club. I am not a music person by any means; I am happy to listen to the same album over and over again. But, I saw the Antlers play for the first time at the Mercury Lounge in Manhattan and instantly bought their album. Their music is haunting and for just three people they have a really big sound. The concert last night was fabulous. We missed the opening band because the concert actually played out on time. No matter, I was deep into the music. They played a lot of songs from their most recent album, Burst Apart, a good handful of songs from their first album, Hospice. I was pleasantly surprised to hear two new songs that sound very promising for their next album. The friends we took with us had never heard of the Antlers but everyone was duly impressed with the show. I hope they play somewhere near me again soon.

Leave a Reply

