Banana Bread

For the last few days, I have kept my eye on the fruit bowl, tracking the progress of the bananas. I have been waiting for them to ripen with the goal of turning them into banana bread.

Today was the day. This is my own banana bread recipe, which I have created and adapted over the last few years. I had been trying to reproduce the banana bread from my childhood memories of my mom’s banana bread.

Happy mess

Honey

After trying many different recipes and modifying the ingredient quantities, I came up with this recipe a few years ago and it uses much less fat and sugar than most banana bread recipes. And the best part is that it is wonderfully moist and flavorful.

1/4 cup sugar

Batter

A note on the pan, my mother-in-law doesn’t have a loaf pan, which is what I normally use, so I used a spring form pan and it turned out just fine. This can also be made as muffins with a cooking time of about 25 minutes.

Banana Bread

1.5 cups flour

1/2 cup oatmeal

1 sachet levure chemique (or 1tbs baking powder + 2 tsp baking soda)

¼ cup butter

¼ cup turbinado sugar

2 eggs

½ cup plain yogurt

3 tbs honey

3 medium sized ripe bananas, mashed

(Optional 1 cup chocolate chips or 1 cup nuts you like)

Preheat oven to 350°F/180°C. Butter your pan.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour and leavening agent(s).

Melt the butter. In a large bowl, whisk the butter and sugar. Whisk in the eggs one at a time. Whisk in the yogurt, then the honey.

Using a spoon, stir 1/3 of the flour mixture into the butter mixture. Stir in 1/3 of the bananas into the batter. Alternate add the flour/bananas in two more doses to the batter stirring well to incorporate each time. Now you can stir in your optional ingredients. Pour the batter into the pan.

Bake 45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Eat warm or at room temperature. Keeps up to three days when covered with plastic wrap.

Leave a Reply

