Apple Cake

There wasn’t much left by the time I got out my camera

We were invited to Laurent’s brother’s place for dinner last night and I was in charge of dessert. I love to cook, but haven’t done much cooking at all since we have been at my in-law’s.

I was glad to be able to break out my measuring cups and whip up something yummy. Yes, I bought my measuring cups with us as the Europeans use weighted measures to cook with. I actually prefer cooking with weighted measures rather than cups and spoons because it is so much more accurate. My cup of flour may not be the same amount as your cup of flour, but 300g of flour is, well, 300g of flour. However, since the vast majority of my recipes come from American sources, I nearly always use cups and spoons.

I decided to make an apple cake that I bookmarked on Smitten Kitchen eons ago. Deb is my go to recipe resource and she rarely fails me. I do modify her recipes pretty often because I know that she uses more salt than I would, or fewer herbs or more sugar, etc, and she often has pans that I don’t have. But the end results are always delicious. The original recipe can be found here.

This is my adapted version.

Apple Cake

6 apples

1 tablespoon cinnamon

3 tablespoons turbinado/sugar in the raw

2 ¾ c flour, sifted

1 tablespoon baking powder OR 1 pink packet of levure chemique

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup grapeseed oil*

¼ cup turbinado/sugar in the raw

¼ cup orange juice

2 ½ teaspoons vanilla

4 eggs

Preheat oven to 350°F/180°C. Grease a 9×13 baking pan.

Cut the apples into small chunks and toss with cinnamon and 3tbs sugar. Set aside.

Whisk the flour, leavening and salt in a small bow and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk the oil, sugar, orange juice and vanilla. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. Whisk in the eggs one at a time until all ingredients are well incorporated.

Pour half the batter into the baking pan. Cover with half of the apples. Pour the remaining batter over the apples, then add the last layer of apples evenly over the batter. Bake about 1 hour or until a tester comes out clean.

*Grapeseed oil is a nearly flavorless oil full of many good fats. It is great for cooking with and can be used like olive oil or other cooking oils to sauté with or even bake with. I never used grapeseed oil in the US as it was quite expensive, but it abounds here at low prices. I found a liter size bottle for about 5€.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

