Bordeaux

Pont de Pierre

Our trip to southwestern France started and ended in Bordeaux. We flew into Bordeaux at the start of the trip and spent a few days in the Biarritz area, including Capbreton, Bayonne and St. Jean de Luz. We made a stop at the magnificent Dune de Pyla, and then returned to Bordeaux for the last two days before flying back to Lille. I had never been to Bordeaux before, and I was totally charmed by it. It is a beautiful city on the Garonne River. Parts of it reminded me of a mini-Paris. I would have loved to stay in Bordeaux a few extra days, and next time we will definitely explore the wine region. One of the sites we, and especially Louis, enjoyed the most was the Miroir d’Eau, a large fountain/pool of water on the riverfront. The Miroir d’Eau goes through a cycle of about 15-20 minutes. The basin starts out filled with water, but it is only about 2 cm deep, then it empties out and the wet surface creates a mirror effect. After a few minutes, vapor rises up and then the basin starts to fill with water again. I could spend hours watching people splash around in the fountain, and I think that Louis could play in it for hours too.

Louis goes for a ride on the carousel

Pont de Pierre

Fontaine des Girondins

Reflections in the Mirroir d’Eau

Pont de Pierre

Flowers in the Jardin Publique

In the Jardin Publique

A tree-lined walkway

Mirroir d’Eau

Afternoon café with a canelé

Jambon de Bayonne

Roman ruins

Biking along the Garonne

A double rainbow!

About la marinière

My name is Leanne. American by birth, a European in my soul. I live in Vienna with my husband and our toddler.

66 comments

  1. Love love LOVE the photo at Mirroir d’Eau — what an adorable face!!
    ;)

  2. joiedevivre74

    Reblogged this on Thisbeautifullife and commented:
    I love all things France!

  3. joiedevivre74

    Reblogged this on Thisbeautifullife and commented:
    Excellent choices!

  4. joiedevivre74

    Reblogged this on Thisbeautifullife and commented:
    So adorable.

  5. joiedevivre74

    Reblogged this on Thisbeautifullife.

  6. Beautiful pictures. What wonderful memories for you…. to enjoy always, T

  7. vikki

    I used to live in Le Mans France. Me and my family went to Bordeaux on vacation and it was absolutely beautiful. I was amazed at how AWESOME it was. J’aime Bordeaux!

  8. writingisl0ve

    Reblogged this on writingisl0ve and commented:
    Beautiful pictures of a gorgeous place that is on the top of my to go places!

  9. Congratulations on being freshly pressed. Very nice pictures! Thank you for sharing. Feel free to check out my blog at http://germch55.wordpress.com for virtual tours of New York.

  10. Nice digital pictures and what beautiful yellow flowers! One thing that Bordeaux is known for is Tourism which is it’s major industry. Feel free to check out my blog a thttp://segmation.wordpress.com and have fun.

  11. Love love love!! It’s all so beautiful!

  12. Nice photos; hope you also managed to enjoy a glass or two of something nice while in the Bordeaux area.

  13. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!
    My husband-to-be recently discovered he has relatives who live in Bordeaux. We hope to plan a trip there this summer to meet the family, and clearly to drink incredible wine. Your post got me excited for the trip.
    Thanks for writing!
    Check me out at theusualbliss.com sometime!

  14. When I was 11 I went to Bordeaux for 2 weeks as an exchange student. That was one of the most memorable experience as a child of the feelings being there. However I don’t remember much about what it looked like. Thanks for allowing me to see some of the sights again.

  15. kirstifrazierjung

    Your photographs are beautiful. My husband is from France and we’ve never yet made our way to Bordeaux. Your pictures, though, put me in a mind to make the effort during our next trip. Happy travels!

  16. lovely lovely double rainbow! :) and the Mirroir d’Eau picture is really good. Cheers!

  17. Have you read Adam Gopnik’s “Paris to the Moon”? Your pictures remind me of some of the mental images I would get from reading about his adventures and observations as an American living and raising a young family in Paris. Your son, Louis, is adorable, and also reminds me of the stories Gopnik – who is now back in NYC – would recount raising his son in Paris. I highly recommend the book. It’s been well enjoyed by everyone I’ve suggested or loaned it to so far. Cheers, and thanks for sharing your lovely pictures. :-)

  18. How fun! I don’t think I’ve ever seen photos of Bourdeaux and yours are lovely.

  19. Oh, this post makes me very happy and quite sad at the same time! About a year ago, nearly to the day, I spent some time in Bordeaux. After lving and traveling around France for almost 9 months Bordeaux was without a doubt my very favourite place. I would go back in a heartbeat! Thanks for sharing!

  20. I looooooved reading your post. I used to live here, on Rue Saint Catherine. Adore this city so much as it inspired a lot of my jewelry making and collection. Have fun!!! :)

  21. Nice Photographs and thank you for sharing.
    marg swarnabhoomi

  22. Pingback: bordeaux | raquel515926

  23. What amazing photos! Congrats for being on Freshly Pressed! :)

  24. great pics… beatiful city… lovely..

  25. lijiujiu

    How beautiful the pics are! And how cute the boy is!
    Bordeaux is a beautiful place, thanks for sharing.

  26. Bonjour! Quelles belles photos! et il est trop mignon le bébé!
    Je suis traducteur-interprète pour les langues français/anglais et je travaille depuis le français. Il fait toujours plaisir de trouver qqn de la même profession sur WordPress.

  27. travelwyse

    Reblogged this on travelwyse and commented:
    Gorgeous pictures!

  28. Beautiful. Enjoy your time in France. It looks as if little Louis is going to have a chance to be bilingual. Yay!

  29. Very beautiful photos… I love the one with the rainbow most. That’s a hard to get shot :)

  30. We’re off to France for 5 weeks this summer and Bordeaux has always been on my list to visit when we have more time, so it’s on our itinerary especially after seeing your photos!

  31. Hi! Someday hope to explore this place..terrificcccc……

  32. Roshni

    Beautiful photos! Loved them! :) Congratulations on being FP!

  33. Some day I will visit.

  34. Reed Brothers

    Your photos brought back a lot of great memories. I lived in Bordeaux from 1973-1974. Thank you for sharing and congrats on being freshly pressed!

  35. Beautiful photos.

  36. Reblogged this on luvsiesous and commented:
    Bordeaux France as seen through the eyes of a fellow blogger.

    The baby is cute! Looks so much like my cousin’s baby when he was that age, I thought for a second, “I am on the wrong page.”

    Wayne

  37. Terrific photos! This place has been on my bucket list for years. Thanks for sharing.

  38. wow nice pictures …cute boy…

  39. So glad you enjoyed it! I have so much fun sharing…makes me feel like I’m getting to relive all the joy!

  40. www.macuisineetvous.com

    On retrouve bien bordeaux, le meilleur les cannelés ( trop petit sur la photo )
    Benoit
    http://mesphotosetvous.wordpress.com

  41. Sounds like you and my mother have a lot in common! She also married a Frenchman (from Normandy) and raised my sister and me to be bilingual. And we never lived in France at all–born and raised in the USA. My father never really felt like moving back to France though I can imagine him retiring there easily.

    And I have family in Bordeaux! Well more precisely Merignac, but that’s actually where the airport is! I visited a few years ago, I remember the reflection pool and all the buildings in the pictures. Thanks for sharing!

  42. We would love to post “mirroir d’eau” at toemail if you do not mind? http://toemail.wordpress.com

  43. Beautiful pictures (and your son is the most precious, too cute!). Thank you for sharing,
    Artphalt (http://artphalt.wordpress.com)

  44. It’s posted now. Thanks so much for participating in toemail – we really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 269 other followers

